COLD! I mean I was prepared for it to be cold up North, but it’s been a while since I really knew what “cold” was. Okay, you probably want some numbers. Well, the high today was 24 F (that is -8C, for my friends Down Under). Now, granted, that’s probably not all that cold if you are from, say, North Dakota. But to my little Floridian fingers and toes….well, I guess you get the point.

But that’s not to say that cold is bad. Oh no! Cold can actually be good. For instance, when it’s cold you have no desire to go outside for anything, so you can get all those things in the house that you’ve been neglecting (like laundry :P). Also, if there is a body of water near you that is frozen, you can go ice-skating. And my favorite, there is this beautiful white stuff that falls from the sky and covers everything, disguising the landscape.

Take Winona Lake for example I have spent a total of five summers here and enjoyed the warm air, the blue skies, the Fourth of July Fireworks. I have walked every trail, been in practically every building, and had every tree memorized (no seriously I did, when a tree fell over the Winter, I would notice).

Then I arrived in Winter with a blanket of snow over it. And now it looks like this:

Westie
Westie

 

Playground behind Gamma C
Playground behind Gamma C
McClain
McClain
Indiana Hall
Indiana Hall
Frozen canal behind The Village
Frozen canal behind The Village
Alpha
Alpha

In addition to the blanket of snow, there is also a distinct lack of people around.

But even though it’s cold outside, I’m toasty inside my house.

And I’m finally getting my laundry done.

