What is a dream? The definition I found was: “A condition or achievement that is longed for; an aspiration”. But is that really all that “dream” means. In some ways, I feel like it’s a hope put into words. Sometimes it’s not even specific, just a general longing. Sometimes it’s very specific.

It actually varies according to who your asking. Some people want the dream job. Some people dream of traveling the world. Some people dream of never leaving home. Some people dream of a white picket fence with the children playing in the yard while the significant other sits with you on the porch and laughs at their antics.

Then it varies within each person. Take me for example. That last dream is the idealized form of the dream I’ve had since I was five years old. It is my dream…….but it’s not my only dream. In God’s timing, that’s not where He has me. So I have other dreams. I dream of writing books that challenge and turn people to find the Truth. I dream of being able to act in theatre and film that has the same impact. I dream of making sure the whole world knows about the Christian Performing Artists’ Fellowship.

These are all my dreams. But the funny thing about dreams is that they change. One thing I’ve struggled with is making sure my dreams are from God. Take that first dream, for example. There was a time in my life that I held onto that dream so hard I couldn’t see what God wanted me to be doing in the present. Then I went the other extreme and thought that since I wasn’t married or getting married, it obviously wasn’t God’s will and I shouldn’t think about it at all. (Just for the record, I didn’t manage to do that well at all!)

It was a real concern of mine. I didn’t want to be outside of God’s heart, but I had dreams that He obviously wasn’t ready to fulfill yet. Did that make the dream itself bad?

After praying and searching, Jeremiah 29:11 came to mind forcefully, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” For me, the turning point was recognizing with my heart and brain, that whatever is going on in my life is a part of God’s plan and should be my focus at that time. And that He has also given me a future and a hope.

So, I still do have my dream of a family one day, but I know that in God’s plan, today is not that day, so I rejoice in the plans and dreams He has given me now!

