Sometimes the Lord doesn’t leave any room for you to guess what He has in store. Sometimes He leads your heart in no uncertain terms in a specific direction.

That happened to me this summer. I was attending the theatre program at the MasterWorks Festival and I overheard Rich Swingle, our program director, telling someone that he was leading a group of actors and musicians to the Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia. Immediately, I felt the call to go. I have only experienced this level of certainty of what God wanted me to do a few times in my life.

Once the website I was up I pored over the page and prayed. I was so encouraged by what I saw the team was going to do:

  • Further the long-range mission goals of the International Missions Board (IMB) Engage Sochi team using dramatic arts and music
  • Participate alongside IMB personnel during the 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia with their evangelism and church planting project called Engage Sochi by:
  • Being the fragrance of Christ wherever you go and being Jesus to those you encounter
  • Sharing Christ through the ministry of dramatic arts and music through one-on-one encounters with people from all over the world using Olympic pin trading as your platform
  • Collecting contact information so that local church-planters can follow up with additional evangelism, discipleship, and church planting

After praying and allowing the Lord to lead me where He wanted me to go, I registered for the trip.

Please pray for this team!

  • Pray that all the details will be ironed out.
  • Pray that all travel arrangements can be made smoothly.
  • Pray that all support is raised.
  • Pray that God will, even now, be working in the hearts of the people we will be reaching out to in Sochi.
  • Please pray for safety while we are in Russia.
  • Pray for the piece we will be performing in the streets of Sochi.

During the trip I will be attempting to keep up with my blog and when I get home, I will be putting together a DVD of what the Lord did during the trip. If you would like a copy of the DVD, please email me and let me know by leaving a comment.

I am so excited to see how the Lord will work through this opportunity!

