It is October 22 and that means that there are exactly 9 days before National Novel Writing Month starts. If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, I’ll tell you. It’s a challenge to write 50,000 words in the 30 days of November. (For more info, here’s the website)

This will be my 6th year joining in. And I love it! The community on the website is huge and you have so many people cheering you on.

One of the areas that is full of helpful people is the forums. As I was perusing them the other day, I discovered one that mentioned they were putting together their Novel Binder.

I did this for my first couple of NaNo’s, but haven’t done it in a few years. I thought it was time to change that. I actually went a step further and made a Writing Bag.

So here is my bag:

photo 3-2

I should mention that everything I put together in this bag were things I had around the house. This bag has been used for many different things since I bought it, but this is the most exciting thing I’ve used it for, by far.

Here is the inside of the bag:

photo 4-2

It’s hard to see in this picture, but I have my scrapbook box as well as my computer bag. They fit perfectly and I’m SO excited!

Now I decided to do something a little different with my novel. Instead of making a binder, I decided to make a scrapbook that I can add to and expand as the novel gets written. So here are a couple of pictures of my scrapbook:

photo 5-1

The outside is unassuming. I love the red color and once I know more about my novel, I’ll decorate the box to reflect that.

 

photo 1-4

My novel this year is based on various proverbs in the Bible, so having my Bible with me is necessary. That small notebook is perfect for keeping track of to-dos and ideas.

photo 2-3

Once you lift those out, you find the cover sheets for the actual scrapbook. I am in love with the fact that it’s in a box!!!!!

I had some scrapbook paper lying around from another project, so I chose some papers:

photo 1-2

 

It’s important to use as much glittered paper as possible. 😉

photo-2

Since my papers were 12X12 and my scrapbook is 8X8, I needed to put them through the chopping block.

photo 4-3

Now, I’m going to put all the pieces together and start planning my novel!

If you are doing NaNo, please “buddy” me! My username is: ahighcalling.

