Wow! It has been a really long time since I posted here.

Since my last post I’ve:

  • Won Nano!
  • Performed twice for the Second Sunday Series Concerts!
  • Had a fun Thanksgiving with my work family!
  • Attended the first conference of the year!
  • Hosted my parents for a few days’ visit!
  • Visited them in Florida for 2 glorious weeks!
  • Celebrated Christmas with 60 degree weather (and enjoyed temperatures up to 72 degrees!)
  • Visited with my sister, her husband, and their kidlets
  • Started a brand new year at work!

So much busyness! But so wonderful too!

Amidst all of the celebrations and such, I got ready for a new year. One of the gifts I received was the devotional book, Jesus Calling.  I read the first entry on January 1st and one of the verses jumped out at me….

Romans 12:2 “And fashion not yourselves like unto this world but be ye changed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what that good, and acceptable and perfect will of God is.”

I don’t usually choose a verse of the year or anything, but for over a year now God has been laying this one on my mind:

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you.”

Then after losing my niece about a year ago, I was sharing this verse with a good friend of mine and they pointed out the part of the verse that says “not to harm you” and, I tell you, I clung to that part of the verse during all the sleepless nights, all the tears, and all the incredible frustrations. I didn’t understand how all of that wasn’t harming me, but if God had said it, I had to believe it was true.

Again it became dear to me when I learned of the passing of a precious little girl I worked with in New Zealand. I grabbed that verse so hard, you could practically hear it choking.

That verse and that particular phrase sustained me through one of the hardest emotional years I’ve ever been through.

And to tell the truth it is still sustaining me today. I still have bad days, but the Lord continually brings this verse to mind.

But when I read Romans 12:2, I knew that this was the verse God was going to use for me this year. My desire is to focus on “renewing my mind” to be more intentional in becoming like Christ in my thoughts and actions.

I have a long way to go to be emotionally healed after this last year, but I feel like I’m at the point where I’ve been so broken down I can only be built back up…..And this is the way I want to build my self back up, from my heart and mind out.

