Or: How I Get Starbucks for Free

I don’t usually post about things like this because it feels very ad-like and I don’t want that, but I decided to make an exception here because it really does work without a lot of work on your part

I love Starbucks…that is, I love writing at Starbucks.

I don’t know why, but I am the most productive when I’m sitting at one of the tables and looking out at all the hustle and bustle of this busy little store.

So, this year, as part of my determination to write more and get some major projects crossed off my writing list, I decided to make the investment to go to Starbucks. Now, I realized it was going to be a sacrifice, because I’m on a tight budget and tight budgets do not lend themselves to Starbucks visits.

Then I found out I could use Ibotta to pay for my Starbucks visits.

Ibotta is an app where you can save on things you already buy. So, I buy a Bolthouse drink. After leaving the store (or sometimes while I’m still in it, if I have to wait for someone) I scan the receipt, scan the product and then they deposit $.1.25 in my Ibotta account. Once you’ve accumulated at least $20, you can purchase gifts cards.

And this is where my writing benefits. Starbucks is one of the gift cards you can purchase. So my splurges discipline to write more doesn’t actually cost me anything extra *and* I downloaded the Starbucks app and always transfer all my Ibotta gift cards to the app, so now I am a “Gold Member” at Starbucks (they send you a card and everything!) and I earn free food very so often. 

It kind of feels like cheating in some way because I’m literally at this store at least three mornings a week before work and sometimes in the afternoon and I’m not impacting my wallet at all.

So, as I’m sitting here enjoying my Mocha Fappuccino:

I thought I’d invite you to enjoy a drink with me. Join Ibotta (you can use my code-pyisdvp- and get $5 to start your account with).

If Starbucks isn’t your thing, Amazon, Joanns, iTunes, Walmart, even PayPal are a few of the other options you can choose to place your money in.

Let me know if you have any questions and happy shopping!

